Classic (or not) Victoria Sponge Cake

A few weeks ago I posted this picture on Instagram.

20130828-211554.jpg

It got quite a response! Mainly due to the magic ratio of cake=cream=cake! We all love a Victoria sandwich, who doesn’t? I will admit the cream can be a issue for some people. we do usually just have jam but sometimes we add cream as a treat. 🙂

I thought I might share my recipe, not mine originally this one is years old, but the one I stick to. I always go old school with cakes, using the 6663 rule.

6oz Self Raising Flour

6oz Butter ( I use Stork, controversial?)

6oz Caster Sugar

3 eggs

Put it all in a bowl/mixer and mix. hard hey?! Split between the tins and bake at 180c for about 25 minutes, until golden on top, coming away from the tin at the sides and a skewer comes out clean.

I find this works fine for a 7″-8″ tin or makes about 20-24 fairy cakes. For a deeper cake or a larger tin, up the quantities to 8oz butter/sugar/SR flour and 4 eggs.

Leave a Reply

